Salted brown butter Rice Krispie Treats

If you are friends with me (which is a condition of knowing about this blog, so chances are high that you are), you’ve probably had one of my salted brown butter Rice Krispie treats. I brought these to Ben’s birthday last night, to stroofing a few weeks ago (albeit with some horrible pseudo-Krispie), to random BBQs, and they are always super popular. My theory is that people tend to go overboard when making public-facing desserts, aiming for rich and sweet rather than light and subtle. But often (especially after a big meal), nobody wants more heavy food. These Rice Krispie treats are the opposite of heavy. They are probably 95% air, and the rest is a sweet-savor-crunchy-chewy surprise.

Two notes about this recipe. First, I think it requires slightly more Rice Krispies than called for; more like 7.5 cups. Second, some extra salt sprinkled on top is fantastic.

 
4
Kudos
 
4
Kudos

Now read this

Crossfit Thoughts

In the summer of 2010, I was a mess: heartbroken and barely functional. Various advice-givers recommended fitness as a great way to recover from being really sad. I tried to take up running, but it turned out that running made me both... Continue →