The best way to hard-boil eggs

Moments ago, I was sitting in my office eating an especially delicious hard-boiled egg when it occurred to me that many of you may not be aware of the best way to hard-boil eggs! I can’t remember where I learned this method, but dollars to doughnuts it was either Mark Bittman or the Food Lab.

Step 1: Bring small pot of water to boil.

Step 2: Put eggs into water.

Step 3: Immediately turn off the heat and cover the pot.

Step 4: Let eggs sit for twelve minutes.

After twelve minutes I plunge them into an ice bath because I think (perhaps incorrectly) that it makes them easier to peel afterwards.

FACT: Eggs are my favorite food.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Split pea soup

Cold weather is here! Time for split pea soup, the easiest/cheapest soup you can make. Ingredients: 3 strips bacon olive oil (optional) Half cup of diced ham One large onion 6 cups broth or water One 16-oz bag split peas Eight carrots,... Continue →