Salad Annals: Kale and Farro Salad with Butternut Squash and Pomegranate Dressing

This salad is a BIG WINNER, you guys. I made it up when I was having a bunch of people over and thank God I made extra because it is so delicious. Also, a great way to use up extra CSA produce. All amounts are approximate. Oh, and it keeps beautifully (even dressed) and if you want more protein just add some rotisserie chicken.

SALAD

1.5 cups cooked farro

2 bunches kale, massaged with oil and salt

3 golden beets, roasted and chopped

1 medium butternut squash, peeled, chopped into cubes, and roasted with cinnamon

1 granny smith apple, quartered and thinly sliced

DRESSING

3 tablespoons chopped shallots

1 tablespoon dijon mustard

juice of half a lemon

1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

1 tablespoon maple syrup

3 tablespoons pomegranate juice

4 tablespoons olive oil

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Salad Annals 6

Sorry I’ve been neglecting you, blog! But I am back with another salad. The dressing for this is just incredible. So, I based it on this Bon Appetit recipe for Sweet, Tart, and Spicy Shrimp Cucumber Salad. I made the dressing exactly as... Continue →